Invited Speakers

Please find below a complete list of the invited speakers with titles of talks and biographies (as available).

  • Professor Jocelyn Bell Burnell, University of Oxford, UK
    Keynote: The discovery of pulsars – a graduate student’s tale

  • Dr Arianna Borrelli, Technical University Berlin, Germany
    The joint rise of symmetry and symmetry-breaking in particle physics

  • Professor David Fegan, University College Dublin, Ireland
    The development of high-energy γ-ray astronomy

  • Professor Peter Gallagher, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, Ireland
    The Astronomy of Birr Castle - from the Leviathan to LOFAR

  • Professor Daniel Kennefick, University of Arkansas, USA
    No shadow of a doubt: Eddington, Dyson and the eclipse expeditions of 1919

  • Professor Walter Kutschera, University of Vienna, Austria 
    Otto Robert Frisch, a pioneering craftsman of nuclear fission

  • Professor Nadia Robotti, University of Genoa, Italy
    The dream of alchemists: Rutherford, the first artificial transmutation and the discovery of the proton

  • Professor Ana Simões, University of Lisbon, Portugal
    To be or not to be. Observing totality during the 1919 solar eclipse at Príncipe and Sobral

  • Dr Roland Jackson, University College London, UK
    John Tyndall and Eunice Foote in the history of climate science

  • Professor Johannes Orphal, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
    A brief history of climate science

  • Dr Isobel Falconer, University of St Andrews, UK
    Closing remarks and open discussion on ‘Let’s see the other side’

  • Professor Helge Kragh, Aarhus University, Denmark
    Christian Møller, Bertolt Brecht, and the Bohr Institute ca. 1938-1939
Key dates

Extended Poster submission deadline:

6 May 2022 Midday

Early registration deadline:

13 May 2022

Registration deadline:

27 May 2022